Fire Department


1st row (L to R): Dick Schmale, Dick Anderson, Don Noyce, Al Gasner, Marv Jensen, Norm Champion, Gerald Booth, Russ Neath, Lloyd Bavery, Don Xander, Harold Wendt, Chief Don Bunnell.

Back row: James Brimmer, Bob Lawry, Art Schrock, Ed Lawson, Bill Hagstrom, Neil Denton, Earl Gransee, Fritz Kivlin, Earl Wheeler, Frank Johnson, and Don Smith

In 1925, the fire department put their first motor driven fire equipment into use.  The cost was $3,000.  It had a 300-gallon tank and was capable of pumping 50 gallons per minute. A Chevrolet ladder truck was purchased in 1926.  Gerald Booth, Sr. was fire chief at this time.

Oregon Engine Company Number One was organized on March 14, 1894.  Harley Criddle was the first fire chief.  In this photograph, Emmett “Shorty” Erfurth is shown in front of a water cannon purchased in 1910 and a 12-man Niagra hand pumper purchased in 1890. Cisterns were located throughout the village that supplied water to the pumper and cannon.  The cisterns were refilled after each use.

In 1940, a Ford tank truck with a capacity of 900 gallons was purchased by the Towns of Dunn, Rutland, Fitchburg and Oregon.  This was the first tank truck for the fire department service in rural areas in Wisconsin and the first tank truck outside of Milwaukee County.  In 1947, the Oregon Fire Department purchased its first oxygen mask.  Shown in the above photograph are, left to right:  Captain Raymond Noyce wearing the oxygen mask; policeman George Johnson, a former fireman for 28 years; Norton Ames, chairman of the fire and police commission and Fire Chief Ernest Culb.

Volunteer firemen, many of whom were local businessmen, dropped what they were doing and raced to the fire station when the fire whistle signaled there was a fire in the vicinity.

Oregon’s Fire Chiefs

  • 1899 P I Paisley

    1899 P I Paisley

  • 1989 H D Hanson

    1989 H D Hanson

  • 1897 George Theobald

    1897 George Theobald

  • 1906 William Pritchard

    1906 William Pritchard

  • 1911 P H Cusick

    1911 P H Cusick

  • 1925 E G Booth

    1925 E G Booth

  • 1916 E E Buche

    1916 E E Buche

  • 1984 Richard Anderson

    1984 Richard Anderson

  • 1967 Gerald Booth Jr.

    1967 Gerald Booth Jr.

  • 1957 Don Bunnell

    1957 Don Bunnell

  • 1941 Ernie Culb

    1941 Ernie Culb

  • 2016 Glenn Linzmeier

    2016 Glenn Linzmeier

  • 2015 Jack Mlnarik

    2015 Jack Mlnarik

  • 2003 David Bloom

    2003 David Bloom

  • 1996 Randy Sellnow

    1996 Randy Sellnow

  • 1916 August Sarbacker

    1916 August Sarbacker

  • 1919 Erle K Pritchard

    1919 Erle K Pritchard

  • 1992 Gene Berman

    1992 Gene Berman

  • 1928 Ronald R Pease

    1928 Ronald R Pease

  • 1894 J Hartley Criddle

    1894 J Hartley Criddle


Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes