About Us


159 West Lincoln Street (map & directions)

P.O. Box 262

Oregon, WI  53575


Send us an email


  • Every Tuesday throughout the Year: 10 am – 3 pm
  • Every Saturday in June, July, and August: 9 am – 12 pm
  • Every 1st Saturday of the Month  September through May: 11 am – 2 pm
  • We are also Open by Appointment: Please call 608-835-8961, or send us an email

Mission Statement:

The purpose of the Oregon Area Historical Society shall be to collect, preserve, and spread knowledge of the history of the Oregon area.

Our Background:

The Oregon Area Historical Society was chartered in 1987, the inspiration of a group of local residents who shared an interest in preserving and sharing the history of Oregon and the surrounding area.

Establishing and housing a potential museum was a goal of the charter members.  When the Oregon Lumber Company building on West Lincoln Street became available, it was purchased and donated by Florice Paulson in memory of her parents and grandparents.  Dedication of the museum was held on May 18, 1991–the year of Oregon’s 150th birthday.  The museum opened in October, 1992, while work was still in progress.

Past Presidents:

Joel Olsen (2022-present), Dave Gasner (2019-2022), JoAnn Swenson (2017-2018), Dave Gasner (2010-2016), JoAnn Swenson (2008-2010), Karen Everson (2005-2007), Melissa Destree (2001-2004), Robert Gefke (2000-2001), Norm Champion (1996-2000), Florice Paulson (1993-1996), Eeda Lumley (1987 – 1993)


In order to reach any of our Board Members, please call the OAHS at 608.835.8961 or send us an email.

President: Joel Olsen

Vice-President: JoAnn Swenson

Treasurer: Luke Heiar

Secretary: Mary Norwell

Board Members:

Deanna Fischer

Gerard Pehler

Bob Block

Kermit Traska

          Dawn Grinnell

Tuesday Crew:

In order to reach any of our Tuesday Crew, please call the OAHS at 608.835.8961 or send us an email.

Dixie Brown (Museum Coordinator)

Pete Manderfield

Mary Norwell

Joel Olsen

JoAnn Swenson (Newsletter)

Heather Young (Publicity Coordinator)

Carol Wichmann

         Dawn Grinnell

Kermit Traska

Dennis Farrar (Building)

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes